Where Can I Fly in Utah? - Every Drone Law 2019 - Salt Lake City, Provo (Episode 44)

hello everyone my name is Nick and today

I'm gonna be talking about drone laws

now I get asked all the time about drone

laws at different states cities and


so in this 50 part series I'm gonna go

over every single drone law that you

need to follow now make sure you hit

that subscribe button and let's get into


oh also this is not legal advice now

either you live in or plan on visiting

Utah and you want to fly your drone here

is every drone law you need to follow

now there's three different parts of

this there's the federal there's state

and there's city laws and you need to

follow all of them now first let's go

over the federal laws now if you're

flying for fun a lot not for money here

is every federal law you need to follow

but if you are flying for cash skip to

this time code you must register your

drone with the FAA drone zone website

I'll link it below you must fly within

visual sight you must fly below 400 feet

your drone must be under 55 pounds you

must never fly near another aircraft if

you're flying within 5 miles of an

airport you must notify the control

tower and you must never fly near

emergency response efforts now for the

commercial fliers you must hold a remote

pilot's license issued by the FAA

you must also register your drone with

the FAA drone zone website your drone

must be under 55 pounds you must fly

within Class G airspace you must fly

below 400 feet you can only fly during

daytime or at civil twilight which is 30

minutes after sunset you must fly under

100 miles per hour

you must yield the right away to all

manned aircraft I can't fly over people

and lastly you must not fly from a

moving vehicle unless you're in a

lightly populated area now these things

can be waived by the FAA but you must

get a waiver beforehand now that we got

the federal laws out of the way here the

state laws it is illegal to fly over any

correctional facility or in a manner

that interferes with their operations it

is also illegal to use your drone to

harass livestock it is illegal to

weaponize your drone they also expanded

the trespassing law to include drone

usage over private property so you are

not allowed to fly over private property

without consent

you are also prohibited from flying your

drone at dead horse point State Park but

only between the months of March and

October it is illegal to flyer zone

within the vicinity of any wildfire and

lastly public state officials are

allowed to neutralize your drone if

you're flying within three miles of an

acute emergency and is interfering with

or creating a hazard of emergency

response efforts thank you for watching

make sure to hit that subscribe button

and if you have any questions just let

me know in the comments below I'll see

you next time